

ALASKA PROFESSIONAL FIRE FIGHTERS ASSOCIATION

PO Box 111222 ANCHORAGE, AK 99511



North Pole - Fairbanks - Shemya - Anchorage - Juneau - Ketchikan www.alaskapffa.org

Brothers and Sisters;

We are less than two weeks away from the general election and early voting has already begun. True to form Alaskan politics has provided all the interesting twists and turns we have come to expect. There never is a dull moment.

In every letter we send out regarding politics we reiterate that we support those who support issues important to firefighters. I wish I could tell you this is an exact science, but it is not. Some tough choices need to be made and some races present especially difficult decisions. Our final determinations come with careful deliberation and are based on what is best for moving our issues forward.

Politicians have a tremendous say in matters affecting firefighters. They make the laws that govern our workers compensation coverage, what type of pension we have and if it is funded, death and disability benefits, staffing, our right to bargain, the list goes on. These issues are too important for us to not get involved and have a voice.

With Governor Walker suspending his campaign, we quickly moved to examine the two remaining candidates and make our endorsement. The choice was simple, and we voted to endorse Mark Begich for Governor. Mark has a proven track record on public safety as both the Mayor of Anchorage and a U.S Senator. Mark will continue that support if elected Governor of Alaska.

Below is a full list of our endorsements for the 2018 election. Please feel free to contact any board member with questions regarding this list. I encourage you to exercise your right to vote and to get involved in the political process. A healthy democracy requires active participants.

on Wentt

President Alaska Professional Fire Fighters

AKPFFA Endorsements, General Election 2018

Statewide Office

United States Representative: Don Young, Republican

Governor: Mark Begich, Democrat

House Candidates

Kathryn DodgeDemocratFairbanks (01)Grier HopkinsDemocratFairbanks (04)Adam WoolDemocratFairbanks (05)

Nancy DahlstromRepublicanEagle River (13)Kelly MerrickRepublicanEagle River (14)Gabrielle LedouxRepublicanMuldoon (15)Ivy SponholzDemocratCollege Gate (16)Andy JosephsonDemocratMidtown/University (17)

Harriet Drummond Democrat West Anchorage/Spenard (18)

Geran Tarr Democrat Mountain View (19)

Zack FieldsDemocratDowntown Anchorage (20)Matt ClamanDemocratWest Anchorage (21)Jason GrennIndependentSand Lake (22)Chris TuckDemocratMidtown/Taku (23)

Chuck Kopp Republican South West Anchorage/Ocenview (24)

Pat Higgins Democrat Abbot (25)

Laddie Shaw Republican Anchorage Hillside/Huffman (26) Liz Snyder Democrat Tudor/Muldoon, Basher (27)

Amber Lee Democrat South Anchorage Hillside/Girdwood (28)

Shawn Butler Independent Kenai (29)

Chris Diamond Independent Downtown Juneau/Douglas (33)

Andi Story Democrat Mendenhall Valley (34)

Jonathan Kreiss-Tompkins Democrat Sitka (35)
Dan Ortiz Independent Ketchikan (36)

Senate Candidates

Pete Kelly Republican Fairbanks Downtown/Wainwright (A)

Oliver Schiess Democrat Eagle River (G)

Elvi Gray-Jackson Democrat Anchorage, University/Spenard (I)

Don Etheridge Independent Juneau, Downtown/Douglas/Mendenhall (Q)

(District numbers listed in parentheses)